The Republic of Uganda is a landlocked country in East Africa. It is bordered on the east by Kenya, on the north by Sudan, on the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, on the southwest by Rwanda, and on the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, which is also bordered by Kenya and Tanzania.

Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompassed a portion of the south of the country including the capital Kampala.

Area and Population:

Total area 241,551 square kilometers, Land area: 199,808 square kilometers; water and Swamps: 41,743 square kilometers.

Population (2010 est.): 33,398,682 (growth rate of 3.5%); density per square meter: 392. Capital city (2009 est.): Kampala, 1,561,600 (metro area).

Monetary unit: Uganda Shilling.

Language: English is the mode of instruction in schools.

Time: GMT + 3.